Windows 8/10 Smart Screen Warning


SmartScreen is technology from Microsoft that helps users protect their computers against threats from the Internet, for example against malware and phishing attempts. SmartScreen was first introduced in Internet Explorer 8, and is also a part of Internet Explorer 9, 10 and 11. One new SmartScreen feature that was added to Internet Explorer 9 is the reputation check, which is made on all files downloaded from the Internet.
 
With the release of Windows 8/10, the SmartScreen filtering now also operates on desktop level. The SmartScreen technology in Windows 8/10 is named Windows SmartScreen and it makes a reputation check on any file or application that is downloaded from the Internet. The reason why SmartScreen now functions on desktop level is that users nowadays often use other web browsers than Internet Explorer (for example Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox) and by operating on desktop level SmartScreen can protect the computer also when Internet Explorer is not used
.


If you download via the Internet, Windows SmartScreen can affect what happens the first time you start an application or start the installation of an application. SmartScreen will make a reputation check and if the trust is not high enough, Windows 8/10 will notify the user in this way:

SOLUTION : Click the START button. Select Run, enter gpedit.msc and press OK 


Go to User Configuration >> Administrative Templates >> Windows Components >> Attachment Manager


Add "*.exe" to the "Inclusion list for moderate risk file types" setting.

This policy setting allows you to configure the list of moderate risk file types.
If the attachment is in the list of moderate risk file types and is from the restricted
or Internet zone, Windows prompts the user before accessing the file. ..."

In other words, this allows you to run an .exe from the Intranet zone (network) without a prompt, but it will warn before running one from the Internet.



Error ?  The publisher could not be verified : Windows XP , Vista & Windows 7/8/10 displays the following message each time you try to run the software located on another computer connected to the local network (Intranet).

Here you can choose to run the application or cancel the operation. If the you press the Run anyway button, the application will be run and if you press the Don't run button, the application will not be run.


Time Card Manager / Time Card Calculator / HCFA 1500 Software / Receipt Book Software

Runs on Windows


If the you press the More info link, an information message like the one below will be shown on the screen: